Chess Olympiad: Viswanathan Anand To Mentor India, AICF Names Two Groups Every In Open And Ladies’s Part | Chess Information

Two groups every will symbolize India within the Open and girls’s part on the forty fourth Chess Olympiad with five-time world champion Viswanathan Anand being named because the hosts’ mentor for the distinguished event scheduled to be performed from July 28 to August 10. India being the host are entitled to discipline two groups every – within the Open class in addition to the ladies’s part for the primary time ever. It has bolstered the house crew’s medal possibilities on the 14-day occasion, which is predicted to witness the participation of the world’s high names from greater than 150 international locations.

Vidit Gujrathi, who led India to a gold medal within the 2020 Chess Olympiad, held just about, can be a part of India’s first crew within the open part alongside Pentala Harikrishna and Chennai-based Krishnan Sasikiran, who has represented India on quite a few events.

The 19-year-old Arjun Erigaisi and SL Narayanan may even be a part of the primary crew.

Arjun has been spectacular prior to now 12 months and can be one of many gamers to be careful for as he makes his debut on the occasion together with SL Narayanan, whose stable fashion has been very spectacular.

The second crew, however, will comprise of younger skills, who’ve been making headlines with their constant performances within the final couple of years, together with Praggnanandhaa R, Nihal Sarin, Gukesh D and Raunak Sadhwani.

They are going to be making their debuts on the Chess Olympiad. The crew may even have skilled participant Adhiban B, who was part of the Indian aspect which received the bronze medal in 2014.

Within the ladies’s part, the primary crew can have the immensely proficient Koneru Humpy and World No 10 Harika Dronavalli, who’ve stamped their authority on many worldwide tournaments, and the prolific Tania Sachdev with R Vaishali and Bhakti Kulkarni.

The second crew will include nationwide champions Soumya Swaminathan, Mary Ann Gomes and Padmini Rout together with Vantika Agarwal and 15-year-old Divya Deshmukh.

Anand, who determined in opposition to taking part in the upcoming Chess Olympiad, can be very a lot in motion because the mentor of the Indian groups.

“I’m taking part in only a few occasions today and after taking part in many Olympiads, I believed it was time for the youthful ones to play. India has many proficient children like Nihal, Praggnanandhaa, Gukesh, Arjun and some extra,” Anand stated.

Curiously, Praggnanandhaa and Vaishali would be the second set of siblings to symbolize the nation on the similar Olympiad after N Saritha and N Sudhakar Babu, who performed in 1988’s version held in Greece.

GM Pravin Thipsay would be the Head of the Delegation. GM Srinath and GM RB Ramesh would be the coach for the primary crew and second crew of the open part respectively.

GM Abhijit Kunte would be the Coach for the Ladies’s first crew and GM Swapnil Dhopade for the second crew.

India received a bronze medal on the Tromso Chess Olympiad in 2014. Whereas within the two digital Olympiads, India received gold collectively with Russia in 2020 and the ladies’s crew received bronze in 2021.

“Alternative to discipline two groups on the Chess Olympiad opens the door for a lot of younger Indian skills to showcase their sport on the greatest stage which in any other case would have been potential after a wait of in all probability one other couple of years.

“Groups look sturdy and have a great mixture of expertise in addition to younger skills and I am assured that they’ll benefit from this once-in-a-lifetime alternative. I want all of the members one of the best luck for the occasion and their preparations,” AICF Secretary Bharat Singh Chauhan, stated.

The Chess Olympiad was moved out of Russia after it invaded Ukraine and was awarded to Chennai in March.

Alongside the Olympiad, the 94th FIDE Congress and elections may even be held within the metropolis.

The groups: Open –

India A:Vidit Gujrathi, P Harikrishna, Arjun Erigaisi, S L Narayanan, Ok Sasikiran.

India B:Nihal Sarin, D Gukesh, B Adhiban, R Praggnanandhaa, Raunak Sadhwani.



India A:Koneru Humpy, D Harika, R Vaishali, Tania Sachdev, Bhakti Kulkarni.

India B crew: Vantika Agarwal, Soumya Swaminathan, Mary Ann Gomes, Padmini Rout, Divya Deshmukh.

Subjects talked about on this article

Supply hyperlink

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button